traffic lawyers in charlotte nc

NC Driver’s License (DMV) Points

Getting more points in life is a usually a good thing. When it comes to your license though, points are never a good thing.

North Carolina General Statutes 20-16 and 20-16.1 set forth a number of scenarios in which the NC – DMV has the authority to suspend a person’s Driver’s License. Included within NCGS 20-16 is also a “Schedule of Point Values” specifying how many points different offenses will cost you and your license.

If you accumulate 12 or more points within a three-year period, or 8 or more points in the three-year period immediately following the reinstatement of a license which has been suspended or revoked because of a conviction for one or more traffic offenses your Driver’s License may be suspended. NCGS 20-16.

There are also scenarios where a conviction for speeding over certain limits, or combinations of other traffic offenses within a 12 month period can automatically suspend your license. NCGS 20-16, 20-16.1.

You may think that you are doing the responsible thing by mailing in your ticket with payment, or paying off your ticket online, but you may be costing yourself unnecessary points, or worse, getting your Driver’s License in suspension status without realizing it.

It is well worth your time to speak with an experienced North Carolina Traffic Defense Attorney who will work to reduce or eliminate the points associated with your traffic offense.

Below is the Schedule of Point Values, per NCGS 20-16, that the NC – DMV records for convictions of traffic offenses which take place within North Carolina:

  • 5 – Passing stopped school bus
  • 5 – Aggressive driving
  • 4 – Reckless driving
  • 4 – Hit and run, property damage only
  • 4 – Following too close
  • 4 – Driving on wrong side of road
  • 4 – Illegal passing
  • 4 – Failure to yield right-of-way to pedestrian
  • 4 – Failure to yield right-of-way to bicycle, motor scooter, or motorcycle
  • 3 – Running through stop sign
  • 3 – Speeding in excess of 55 miles per hour
  • 3 – Failing to yield right-of-way
  • 3 – Running through red light
  • 3 – No driver’s license or license expired more than one year
  • 3 – Failure to stop for siren
  • 3 – Driving through safety zone
  • 3 – No liability insurance
  • 3 – Failure to report accident where such report is required
  • 3 – Speeding in a school zone
  • 2 – Failure to properly restrain a child in a restraint or seat belt
  • 2 – All other moving violations
  • 1 – Littering pursuant to G.S. 14-399 when the littering

The associated points are even higher for those convicted of or pleading guilty to a traffic offense if it was committed “While Operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle.

Schedule of Point Values for Violations While Operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle:

  • 8 – Passing stopped school bus
  • 6 – Rail-highway crossing violation
  • 6 – Careless and reckless driving in violation of G.S. 20-140(f)
  • 6 – Speeding in violation of G.S. 20-141(j3)
  • 6 – Aggressive driving
  • 5 – Reckless driving
  • 5 – Hit and run, property damage only
  • 5 – Following too close
  • 5 – Driving on wrong side of road
  • 5 – Illegal passing
  • 5 – Failure to yield right-of-way to pedestrian
  • 5 – Failure to yield right-of-way to bicycle, motor scooter, or motorcycle
  • 4 – Running through stop sign
  • 4 – Speeding in excess of 55 miles per hour
  • 4 – Failure to yield right-of-way
  • 4 – Running through red light
  • 4 – No driver’s license or licence expired more than one year
  • 4 – Failure to stop for siren
  • 4 – Driving through safety zone
  • 4 – No liability insurance
  • 4 – Failure to report accident where such report is required
  • 4 – Speeding in a school zone
  • 4 – Possessing alcoholic beverages in the passenger area of a commercial motor vehicle
  • 3 – All other moving violations
  • 1 – Littering pursuant to G.S. 14-399 when the littering involves the use of a motor vehicle

NCGS 20-16.

Convictions for the following offenses will not result in any NC-DMV points:

– Overloads, Over length, Over width, Over height, Illegal parking, Carrying concealed weapon,

Improper equipment/plates/registration/muffler, Improper display of license plates or dealer’s tags,

Failure to display current inspection certificate.

NCGS 20-16.